Preceptors

CLP trainees will have the opportunity to participate in a broad range of research programs.  CLP faculty research programs feature an integrated, collaborative approach across disciplines. The 46 preceptors are best characterized as highly interdisciplinary with almost 40% holding multiple departmental appointments and 17% holding even more than two appointments.

Ravi Allada, MD
Office: Pancoe 2121
Phone: 847-491-2809
r-allada@northwestern.edu
Neurobiology, Molecular Biosciences; Pathology Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/allada/index.htm
Guillermo Ameer, ScD
Office: Tech E354
Phone: 847-467-6719
g-ameer@northwestern.edu
Biomedical Engineering;
Surgery
Bioartificial organ systems, cell delivery and transplantation, tissue engineering
http://www.ameerlab.northwestern.edu/main.php
Vadim Backman, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 3627
Phone: 847-391-3536
v-backman@northwestern.edu
Biomedical Engineering Optical imaging, coherent backscattering spectroscopy for tissue diagnosis, fractal organization of cells and tissues, light scattering and propagation in random/turbid media
http://biophotonics.bme.northwestern.edu/
Neda Bagheri, PhD
Office: Tech E154
Phone: 847-491-2716
n-bagheri@northwestern.edu
Chemical & Biological Engineering Employs engineering principles, informed by biology, to better understand, predict, and control complex biological functions identify design principles that underlie complex biological function, and modulate extrinsic factors to optimize therapeutic interventions.
http://bagheri.northwestern.edu/
Xiaomin Bao, PhD
Phone: 847-467-1833
Office: Pancoe 4413
xiaomin.bao@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Epigenomic regulation of stem cell maintenance and differentiation
http://www.thebaolab.org/home.html
Paul Burridge, PhD
Phone: 312-503-4895
Office: Searle 8-525
paul.burridge@northwestern.edu
Pharmacology Pharmacogenomics of cardiac disease and drug toxicity
http://labs.feinberg.northwestern.edu/burridge/index.html
Richard Carthew, PhD
Office: Pancoe 3111
Phone: 847-467-4891
r-carthew@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences RNAi and Gene Regulation
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/carthew/home.htm
Alfred George, PhD
Phone: 312-503-4893
Office: Searle 8-510
al.george@northwestern.edu
Pharmacology Structure, function, pharmacology, and molecular genetics of ion channels
http://www.pharm.northwestern.edu/research/labs.html#george
Yuan He, PhD
Office: Cook 4139
Phone: (847) 491-8526
yuanhe@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Structure and function of macromolecular machines on genes
http://www.ibis.northwestern.edu/faculty/he.html
Brian Hoffman, PhD
Office: Tech NG91
Phone: 847-491-3104
bmh@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Molecular Biosciences The study of interprotein electron transfer, ENDOR of metalloenzymes
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/hoffman/
Dai Horiuchi, PhD
Office: Lurie 6-105
Phone: 312-503-4085
dai.horiuchi@northwestern.edu
Pharmacology Biology and therapeutic targetability of novel molecular factors that determine patient clinical outcome
http://www.pharm.northwestern.edu/research/labs.html#horiuchi
Curt Horvath, PhD
Office: Pancoe 4401
Phone: 847-491-5530
horvath@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences; Microbiology – Immunology Signal transduction and gene expression in mammalian cells
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/horvath/
Sui Huang, PhD
Office: Ward 11-240
Phone: 312-503-4276
s-huang2@northwestern.edu
Cell and Molecular Biology Cancer cell biology, nuclear structure, anti-tumor drugs
http://fsmweb.northwestern.edu/faculty/FacultyProfile.cfm?xid=11959
Michael Jewett, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 3621
Phone: 847-467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Chemical and Biological Engineering Synthetic biology, cell-free biology, biotechnology, cancer, systems biology, metabolic engineering
http://jewettlab.northwestern.edu/
Derk Joester, PhD
Office: Cook 2087
Phone: 847-491-7443
d-joester@northwestern.edu
Material Science Engineering Biomineral engineering, biological and bio-inspired minerals synthesis and processing, bioinorganic chemical applications
http://joester.mccormick.northwestern.edu/
Neil Kelleher, PhD
Phone: 467-4362
Office: Silverman Hall 3613
n-kelleher@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences;
Chemistry; Medicine
Enzymology of natural product biosynthesis, mass spectrometric-based studies of the “Histone Code,” and development of Fourier transform mass spectrometry (FTMS) for top down proteomics
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/kelleher/index.html
Patrick Kiser, PhD
Office: Silverman 4627
Phone: 847-467-5468
patrick.kiser@northwestern.edu
Biomedical Engineering New antiviral agents and drug delivery systems to intercept sexually transmitted viruses
http://faculty.mccormick.northwestern.edu/patrick-kiser/
William Klein, PhD
Office: Hogan 5-110
Phone: 847-491-5510
wklein@northwestern.edu
Neurobiology Toxic Aβ oligomers (ADDLs): a molecular basis for the cause, diagnosis, and treatment of Alzheimer’s disease
http://www.kleinlab.org/
Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD
Office: Pancoe 2-403
Phone: 847-467-4898
yevgenia.kozorovitskiy@northwestern.edu
Neurobiology Neuromodulation and neural circuit plasticity in the basal ganglia using chemical probes
http://kozorovitskiy.org/
Carole LaBonne, PhD
Office: Pancoe 3411
Phone: 847-491-4165
clabonne@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Formation, migration, and differentiation of neural crest cells
http://www.biochem.northwestern.edu/labonne/carolelabonne.htm
Joshua N. Leonard, PhD
Office: Tech E244
Phone: 847-491-7455
j-leonard@northwestern.edu
Chemical and Biological Engineering Engineering cellular systems and biomolecules for immunotherapy, synthetic biology, and biotechnology.
http://leonard.northwestern.edu/Home.html
Julius B. Lucks, PhD
Office:
Phone:
jblucks@northwestern.edu
Chemical and Biological Engineering Unraveling the RNA sequence/structure/function code for biology, medicine and biotechnology
http://luckslab.org/
John Marko, PhD
Office: Pancoe 4109
Phone: 847-467-1380
john-marko@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences; Physics and Astronomy Experimental study of protein-DNA interactions and chromosome structure, using single-molecule and biophysical micromanipulation, force-measurement and fluorescence methods. Theoretical biophysical chemistry
http://markolab.bmbcb.northwestern.edu/marko/
Thomas Meade, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 2504
Phone: 847-491-2481
tmeade@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Molecular Biosciences; Neurobiology; Radiology Coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, bio sensors
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/meade/
Richard Miller, PhD
Phone: 312-503-3211
r-miller10@northwestern.edu
Pharmacology; Neurology Structure and function of calcium channels, understanding the molecular basis of neurodegenerative disease
http://www.pharm.northwestern.edu/research/labs.html#miller-r
Chad Mirkin, PhD
Office: Ryan 3012
Phone: 847-467-7302
chadnano@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering; Medicine Methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1-100 nm length scale, and utilizing such structures in the development of analytical tools that can be used in chemical and biological sensing, therapeutics, lithography, catalysis, and optics
http://sites.weinberg.northwestern.edu/mirkin-group/
Alfonso Mondragon, PhD
Office: Cook 4131
Phone: 847-491-7726
a-mondragon@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Structure and function of proteins and nucleic acids
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/mondragon/
Richard Morimoto, PhD
Office: Hogan 2100
Phone: 847-491-3340
r-morimoto@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Stress responses and chaperone networks and mechanisms of protein conformational disease
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/morimoto/index.html
Milan Mrksich, PhD
Office: Tech M292
Phone: 847-467-0472
Milan.mrksich@northwestern.edu
Biomedical Engineering; Chemistry Biochemistry, self-assembled monolayers, cell adhesion, surface modification / characterization, SAMDI, mass spectrometry, high-throughput assays, biochips, drug discovery, proteomics, extracellular matrix
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/mrksich/mrksich.htm
SonBinh Nguyen, PhD
Office: Ryan 2015
Phone: 847-467-3347
stn@northwestern.edu
Chemistry DNA detection, directed assembly of hybrid polymers composed of bio-recognition, biocompatible, and drug-containing blocks in aqueous solution for drug delivery & diagnostics, soft materials & biomaterials synthesis, synthesis of pharmaceuticals
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/nguyengroup/stn.html
Thomas O’Halloran, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 4611
Phone: 847-491-5060
t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Molecular Biosciences Regulatory biology and chemistry of transition metal receptors involved in signaling and trafficking pathways
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/ohalloran/
Teri Wang Odom, PhD
Office: Tech k148
Phone: 847-491-7674
todom@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Materials Science and Engineering Developing novel synthetic and fabrication tools to control materials at the 100-nanometer scale and investigate their extraordinary optical properties for applications ranging from from biomedical research to next-generation optical technologies.
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/odom/
Heather Pinkett, PhD
Office: Cook 4133
Phone: 847-467-4048
h-pinkett@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Structure and function of ABC transporters, Molecular mechanism of membrane transport
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/pinkett/Pinkettlab/Welcome.html
Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD
Office: Cook 4135
Phone: 847-467-1173
i-radhakrishnan@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Structural biology of eukaryotic transcription factors and their interactions with proteins and DNA; informatics of transcription factors and macromolecular complexes; structural biology of endocytic proteins and monoubiquitin signal recognition
http://monster.northwestern.edu/radhakrishnan/htdocs/index.html
Amy Rosenzweig, PhD
Office: Cook 4137
Phone: 847-467-5301
amyr@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences; Chemistry Structure and function of metalloproteins
http://groups.molbiosci.northwestern.edu/rosenzweig/
George Schatz, PhD
Office: Ryan 4018
Phone: 847-491-5657
g-schatz@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Chemical & Biological Engineering Plasmonic materials, single molecule mechanical properties and DNA photophysics and mechanical properties
http://www.theory.northwestern.edu/schatz/
Karl Scheidt, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 3611
Phone: 847-491-6659
scheidt@northwestern.edu
Chemistry Discovery of new reaction methodology and bioorganic chemistry
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/scheidt/
Evan Alexander Scott, PhD
Office: Technological Institute E354
Phone: 847-467-6719
evan.scott@northwestern.edu
Biomedical Engineering Develops immunoengineering tools that can collectively enhance our understanding of the immunological mechanisms behind vaccination and achieve rationally designed immunomodulation.
http://faculty.mccormick.northwestern.edu/evan-scott/index.html
Richard Silverman, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 4603
Phone: 847-491-5653
r-silverman@northwestern.edu
Chemistry; Molecular Biosciences Molecular mechanisms of action, rational design, and syntheses of potential medicinal agents: the design of compounds for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases, and bacterial infections.
http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/silverman/
Samuel Stupp, PhD
Office: Cook 1127
Phone: 847-491-3002
s-stupp@northwestern.edu
Materials Science and Engineering; Chemistry; Medicine Self-assembly of nanostructures as a strategy to create materials with novel functions, ranging from improved electronic properties to enhanced biological activity
http://stupp.northwestern.edu/
Igal Szleifer, PhD
Office: Silverman Hall 4629
Phone: 847-467-0674
igalsz@northwestern.edu
Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Chemistry; Medicine Molecular modeling of biointerphases; complex molecular systems that encompass problems at the interface between biology, chemistry, physics and materials science
http://szleifer-group.bme.northwestern.edu/start.php
Regan Thomson, PhD
Office: Tech K 330
Phone: 847-467-5963
r-thomson@northwestern.edu
Chemistry Synthesis of complex polycyclic natural products
http://sites.weinberg.northwestern.edu/thomson/
Danielle Tullman-Ercek, PhD
Office: Silverman 3619
Phone: (847) 491-7043
Email: ercek@northwestern.edu
Chemical Biological Engineering Engineering of membrane proteins and protein membranes
http://dtelab.chem-eng.northwestern.edu/index.php
Fred Turek, PhD
Office: Hogan 2160
Phone: 847-467-6512
fturek@northwestern.edu
Neurobiology; Neurology; Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Psychology Sleep and circadian rhythms, and seasonal reproductive cycles
http://www.neurobiology.northwestern.edu/facultypages/turek/turek.shtml
Keith E.J. Tyo, PhD
Office: Tech E156
Phone: 847-868-0319
k-tyo@northwestern.edu
Chemical and Biological Engineering Developing new types of standardized parts for manipulating cellular function in microbes
http://tyolab.northwestern.edu/
Richard Van Duyne, PhD
Office: Tech K124
Phone: 847-491-3516
vanduyne@northwestern.edu
Chemistry Surface-enhanced spectroscopic methods for chemical and biological sensing
http://sites.weinberg.northwestern.edu/vanduyne/
Eric Weiss, PhD
Office: Pancoe 3413
Phone: 847-491-7034
elweiss@northwestern.edu
Molecular Biosciences Signaling pathways in the control of cell architecture
http://www.biochem.northwestern.edu/weiss/contact.htm
Jason Wertheim, PhD
Office: NMH/Arkes Family Pavilion Suite 1900
Phone: 312-695-8900
jason.wertheim@northwestern.edu
Surgery-Organ Transplantation Utilizes a tissue engineering approach to rehabilitate the extracellular matrix of organs that are not initially suitable for transplantation. Uses the natural extracellular matrix as a scaffold to support the growth of new cells capable of repopulating and habilitating a scarred organ.
http://wertheimlab.northwestern.edu/Members.html
Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Office: Lurie 10-119
Phone: 312-503-2503
tkw@northwestern.edu
Obstetrics and Gynecology;
Molecular Biosciences
Regulation of mammalian ovarian follicle growth
http://www.woodrufflab.org/